Angel Rodriguez Shoot Interview (CWW.com Exclusive)

06/05/2011 15:21

JB: JB here with 'El Nino Maravilla', Angel Rodriguez. Angel, thank you for agreeing to this.

AR: Don't mention it. Always a pleasure.

JB: Well, my first question is this. What made you become a professional wrestler?

AR: I guess that was my father. He was also a wrestler, also called Angel Rodriguez, but he wasn't a mainstream wrestler here in the US. However, he was a legend on the independent circuit in Mexico, and he trained me while I was growing up, so he could pass on his legacy to me. I have always aimed to be like him, and while in Mexico, I'm just the son of a legend, here in the US, I've eclipsed my father several times over.

JB: What must it be like to be wrestling here on Live TV in America, when you were so used to small crowds and no coverage in Mexico?

AR: It was a huge step up, don't get me wrong. The pressure of knowing that a botched move on TV will be seen and ridiculed by the entire world is scary, but at the same time, wrestling as an undefeated amateur wrestler in Mexico was a bigger pressure. Even with small crowds, I had to maintain that streak and a botched move wouldn't result in ridicule, it would result in a loss, something that I could not afford.

JB: How different is amateur wrestling to professional wrestling in your eyes?

AR: Training wise, not at all, as I already knew the moves when I cam to America, I just had to learn to pull punches. Mentality wise and performance wise, not at all, as when I perform on Live TV, just pretend I'm wrestling as an amateur but without the same impact. The only real difference is, I'm making money from this, and I'm not going to stop anytime soon.

JB: Tell the world about the character you portray on TV and the differences or similarities to your character in real life?

AR: They're very similar. A rich Mexican wrestler. I am the same as my character. But to set the record straight, all of the preconceived notions that I'm rich, therefore must be arrogant are untrue. I'm very charitable, very charitable. I mean, I'm donating 50% of my wages to support the American troops out there in Baghdad, plus others. I can get by on half wages thanks to the money my father sprayed on me, so why keep the other half?

JB: But aren't you Mexican?

AR: Well, I might have no American blood in me, but I live in San Jose, and I like to know that there are people fighting for everyone's freedom in the US, whether they be Mexican, American, black or white.

JB: Finally, will you watch CWW Studio's latest film Line of Fire,, starring Hardcore Demon and Lara James?

AR: It sounds awesome, so definitely.

JB: Thank you for your time, Angel, and I hope to talk to you again sometime.

AR: Gracias, JB.

Back

Search site

© 2011 All rights reserved.